Skip to content

Wolf Detox: Day 4

September 22, 2011

Day 4! Boy what a day! 

I’ve been waking up really tired lately, despite getting 8 hours of sleep each night. Aaron said he was a little tired yesterday too.

Today I didn’t feel too hungry throughout the day (I was eating small things every hour or two), but my mind was just on food ALL DAY. All the food that I can’t have. I was mostly thinking that I’d really like some bread.

I spent my lunch break trying to research ways to bake with almond flour. I’ve found some really great vegan and gluten-free websites that have been really helpful. Thing is, a lot of these recipes call for eggs and that’s one of the things we’re not eating right now. We’re not eating eggs because we think they’re unhealthy, we’re just trying to stick to the fruits and veggies right now – so they’re out.

I also should mention that this afternoon is the third day in a row I’ve had this mild headache that lasts about 5 hours. It has to be from something I’ve cut out because I know I’m drinking plenty of water and I’m still drinking my usual one cup of morning coffee (no cream). Occasionally when I don’t have coffee I do get a headache.

So I decided that when I got home I would ask Aaron what he thought about adding eggs back into the diet with dinner. I really wanted to make these paleo muffins and I needed two eggs to do it. I also thought this would help my headache go away?

The paleo muffins turned out great, but maybe they tasted so good because I haven’t had any bread since Sunday. Tomorrow I am going to try to make paleo pancakes for breakfast – should be fun (thanks to the eggs!).

What I ate today:
Breakfast: Coffee. Smoothie made from blueberries, raspberries, coconut milk, flax-seed, chia seed, nectarine, banana, protein powder (and Aaron says with lots of love because he made it).
Snack: Banana.
Lunch: Salad with green lettuce, carrots, olives, bell peppers, and olive oil and vinegar.
Snack: One cup of “mean green” Naked juice.
Dinner: Paleo muffins made with almond flour. Chili cooked in a crock pot with black beans, kidney beans, mushrooms, green chilies, diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, and olives.

I also stopped by the store and bought some vitamin B-12 because I read somewhere the vegetarians need more of this since you usually get it from dairy and meat. I’m also thinking this my help the headaches, but we’ll see.

Oh, and I’m toying with the idea of ending this early. We’ll see how I feel tomorrow. I’m not sure if it will be easier or tougher tomorrow since I don’t have to go to work, but we’ll see. I won’t just binge on Saturday, but I am thinking of eating a small piece of meat on that day. I will keep you updated!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2011 12:01 pm

    Claire! This is so cool, Derek and I did the Paleo diet… but I only lasted about 4 days. My milk supply disappeared and I felt like I was starving. Anyway, Derek stuck with it and I used this website to get some creative ideas for recipes:
    http://www.paleoplan.com/recipes/
    You can make your own almond meal/flour if you have a food processor and you can substitute eggs with flax and water (1T flax & 3Twater=1 egg) . I made the paleo pizza on that site a number of times and just used the flax egg and it was yummy! Keep updating your progress 🙂

    • September 28, 2011 2:17 pm

      Kim, Thanks for the flax/water tip! I’ve never heard of this before, but I definitely want to try it.

      We are not 100% paleo, but we do try. Aaron can go no dairy, but I still eat it a little (milk in my eggs and one piece of cheese at lunch). Cutting out all of the grains was hard to get used to … it took a few months for my stomach to adjust. We mostly eat meat and vegetables for dinner and it took about 3 months for me not to be hungry 2 hours after eating dinner. Now I’m good with it 🙂

    • September 28, 2011 2:35 pm

      Oh, and I imagine Derek liked the paleo diet because you can still eat bacon!

      • September 29, 2011 2:35 pm

        he he… correct! but…nitrate free bacon is expensive!!

  2. Lindsay permalink
    September 23, 2011 4:17 pm

    You can also substitute eggs with 1 tsp. cornstarch mixed with 1 T water or 1/4 tsp. baking powder and 2 T water …or just omit them and it will probably still turn out, just not as fluffy and light. A year ago this wouldn’t really have phased me but now that I actually CAN’T get a lot of the things that you omitted (and almost everything that you are eating, actually) I have a weird perspective on the crazy things that Americans do by choice… 😉

    • September 28, 2011 2:28 pm

      I know right!

      I actually do have issues with the fact that the “Paleo diet” cuts out grains and other “cheap” or low cost foods when 80% of this world – this is all they can afford. I’m not one to tout about what I eat (I hate it when people brag about all the organic food they can buy) – but the detox was interesting to do. I think this would make a great blog post actually – American’s attitude about what they eat vs. others.

  3. Marie permalink
    October 2, 2011 7:57 pm

    Claire, I’m so proud of you and Aaron for trying a cleanse! Chris and I keep talking about it, but haven’t taken the plunge… A thought about your headaches: I think it might be from cutting out sugar. Good luck and try to keep going!!!

Leave a Reply

