Skip to content

Wolf Detox: Day 1

September 19, 2011

Aaron and I are on a diet as of today.

I’ve wanted to do some sort of cleanse for awhile now, but I knew I couldn’t do it alone. Aaron decided on Saturday that he needed to take a week off of working out since his body is getting really tired – so he said he’d do the detox with me!

We’re not doing this detox in order to lose weight – we’re trying to reset our eating habits. For months now we’ve talked about cutting back on the amount of meat we eat. We’ve tried, but it just isn’t happening. We LOVE meat!!

I also wanted to cut back on the amount of sugary foods I eat. Honestly, I don’t eat a lot of sugary foods … I eat a lot of ONE sugary food.

That being chocolate chip cookies.

I love chocolate chip cookies. I could eat them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I often eat them until I feel sick to my stomach (that only takes 3 cookies – it’s not like I’m eating a whole pack!). I work on a Navy base so on days when I don’t bring my lunch I go to Subway. Subway cookies are only 2nd best to the ones I make at home (using the Trader Joe’s chocolate chip recipe, it’s the best). I normally do not crave any particular food, except for cookies. It’s really bad … I know!

Aaron has also feels like his eating habits have gone downhill since after he went to CrossFit Regionals, so detox here we come! We’re not following any certain plan, so I am calling it the Wolf plan.

Here are the basics: for the next 8 days we’re not eating any dairy, grains, meat or processed food.

We are eating: fruits, vegetables, healthy oils, seeds, and nuts.

Also, for full transparency, we are allowing ourselves to eat/drink coconut milk, honey, tea, protein powder (in smoothies), coffee (no cream or sugar – only one cup a day), and vinegar (w/oil for salads). We will also try to eat most of the fruits and vegetables raw (meaning not cooked above 118 degrees), however, cooking them is fine too.

We’re hoping that after creating a solid foundation of fruits and vegetables, we’ll be able to slowly add meat back into our meals – and hopefully will not be eating as much meat as before! I’m also hoping my desire for chocolate cookies will decrease.

Today after work I was a little hungry, but actually no more than usual now that I think about it. We had a pretty big dinner that was very satisfying.

Here’s what I ate today:
Breakfast: Smoothie made from a banana, blueberries, strawberries, coconut milk, ice, and protein powder. One coffee-mug sized yerba mate tea.
Snack: Carrots.
Lunch: Apple. One “Naked” juice drink. Carrots.
Snack: One cup of “Naked” green machine juice with protein powder.
Dinner: Salad made up of green lettuce, spinach, bell peppers, carrots, olive oil and vinegar. Baked red bell peppers stuffed with finely diced mushrooms, green bell peppers, apple, olives, garlic, green onions, and cilantro sautéed in olive oil. Smoothie made from banana, mango, blueberries, strawberries, coconut milk, ice, and protein powder.

I’ll be blogging about this all week so be sure check back later!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 7:02 pm

    CLAIRE! This sounds SOOOHARD!

    I will help and support you by not making/brining in any cookies to the office until you give me the okay ;o)

    • September 20, 2011 9:29 pm

      Thanks for the support! We actually made brownies on Sunday night as a “goodbye dessert” so I have to bring those into the office to get rid of it. What’s really tempting is the cheese I have in the fridge!

  2. Valoria Jones permalink
    September 23, 2011 3:51 pm

    LOVE IT! I fully support the “Wolf Detox.” Aaron reminds me of Brian by taking a week off from working out to rest his body and then replacing it with a detox. I am a little surprised you are so tired. I guess that is just your body making the adjustments. The B12 is a good call. Buenos Suerte!

  3. Kayna permalink
    September 24, 2011 2:02 pm

    That stuffed bell pepper recipe sounds delicous!

Leave a Reply

