Skip to content

Guess what we’re cutting tomorrow

February 21, 2011

Well if you guessed cable TV, you’re right!

When Aaron and I first got married, we never intended to pay for cable, satellite, etc. But our first apartment included basic cable, so we watched it of course. When we moved to PB we were so used to spending time watching TV, that we decided to pay for “basic cable plus” through TimeWarner. This means we got 70ish channels.

For the year that we had basic cable, TimeWarner would call me about once a month to offer me a  fabulous-limited-time-offer of 200 channels for only $120. They would always say that accepting this deal would incur huge savings on my part. With our internet/cable package we were paying about $79 a month, so I would always ask them how paying about $40 more a month would save me money? One telemarketer even told me that “when you finally have the time to relax in front of your TV, you’ll appreciate that you have 200 channels to choose from.”

Yeah, right.

Let me tell you the 5 cable channels I watch: A&E, USA, TLC, FX, & HGTV. Aaron watches FX, Comedy Central, and the History channel (I think).

That is only 7 channels we watch on a regular basis.

And if I’m being honest, 80% of my TV watching time is spent watching re-runs of Law & Order and Law & Order, SVU. I LOVE these shows.

So … the cable is being cut tomorrow, sometime between 3-5pm. We have to pay a $30 fee for a technician to come out to do it, since we don’t have digital cable … but after that, we will have one bill that we pay less for each month (we still pay for internet).

We’re not totally going TV free though. We bought a Roku box and soon will sign up for a Netflix account. We paid $80 for the Roku player (one-time expense) and will pay $7.99 a month for Netflix. It’s still better than the $45 a month cable bill we pay now. It all adds up in the end!

Also, Aaron and I acknowledge that we watch way too much TV. I don’t think watching TV is bad. But I certainly don’t like all the advertisements and how much time it eats up of our day.

Aaron and I also both were raised without cable TV, so honestly, it’s not really a dramatic thing.

We didn’t even have video games! But we both turned out fine, don’t you think?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 8:51 am

    Netflix is bomb, All I watch is Law and order svu but they have all of them you will be plenty happy with it I promise!

Leave a Reply

