Skip to content

Thank you to everyone who sent me Christmas cards … I have a green door now

January 24, 2011

Every year I tape up the Christmas cards that people send to us on the back of our front door. I love looking at them and seeing all the friends and family that are in our life.

The rest of the Christmas decorations came down weeks ago, but the cards were still up. I finally took them all down last Thursday. Thing is, about 5 or 6 of the tape on the cards took the paint off the door. The paint just peeled right off, it was really weird.

So now the door paint looked blotchy and it just bothered me. We just signed another year lease on this apartment and I couldn’t live with this door looking like this!!

I convinced Aaron that we needed to repaint the door. We happened to have left over green paint from our desk remodel, so that’s the color we used!

The lighting in here is a little weird, it's not this bright green ...

I really like how the door looks now. The best thing is that this project only took a few hours and it was really cheap since we had almost all of the supplies (including paint) already.

So thank you to everyone who sent us Christmas cards and pictures! I’m happy that some paint peeled off our door 🙂

Before photo, with previous paint removed and sanded

After, with Spanish Olive paint

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    January 27, 2011 7:43 am

    The door looks great!!! Sorry that I didn’t send a Christmas card to help you out. Hopefully, next year.

    • January 27, 2011 10:15 am

      Thanks mom! We are doing curtains for the living room next. That is Friday’s project!

  2. January 27, 2011 2:31 pm

    Ahah! Found you. 🙂

    And the door looks like a treat!

  3. Lindsay permalink
    March 26, 2011 7:51 am

    This is one of the reasons why I love you. 🙂 Who else would paint their front door olive green and have it look awesome?!

Leave a Reply

