Skip to content

The Wolf take on eating – Pt. 2

November 22, 2010

So Aaron and I began cutting out out processed foods, and carbohydrates like pasta and grains.

As you can imagine, I wasn’t 100% on board with this approach to food yet. I definitely was not thrilled about how many vegetables and fruits I would have to eat.

Also, as the primary “cook” of the family (at that time), I wasn’t to happy that Aaron expected us eat with no assistance from pre-made/prepared food. When PastaRoni is on sale, I buy it in bulk!

I told him, “if you want to want to eat this way, then you can prepare the food yourself.” Since college, I have eaten oatmeal (pre-packaged Quaker Maple & Brown Sugar) for breakfast Monday thru Fridays. I told Aaron I was not giving this up either. I’m not really into spending a lot of energy preparing food.

Aaron decided to counter my resistance by preparing breakfast and lunch for me. I said that if he made it, I would eat it.

And I have been.

Aaron has made me breakfast and lunch every workday since August 16th. I’m a lucky girl, huh?

But this post isn’t about how wonderful my husband is (although he is rather wonderful). This post is supposed to be about the first thing I noticed once we changed how we eat.

I’d love to say that I felt more energy throughout the day or my skin cleared up. But that’s just not the case.

This first thing I noticed was how much money we were spending on food now. Our grocery spending went up a lot … like $200ish a lot! Usually post and pre-deployment months tend to be more exspensive because we rationalize spending saying this or that is “special” (i.e. extra desserts, going to the movies, gifts, etc) since Aaron is not home all the time. I thought maybe this was why September was so high.

We decided we would just try to be more careful at the grocery store during the next month. Well the next month came and went, and we were still way above our “old average monthly” grocery bill. And we were conciously being careful about what we bought too!

Eating healthy is not cheap. It’s plain and simple. That’s why lower-income neighborhoods have high rates of obesity. Why would you spend $5 on fruits and vegetables when you can feed your whole family by ordering from the Dollar Menu?

For the month of November we have been tracking how much we spend on each food item. This way we can see exactly how much we’re spending on fruits, vegetables, meat, alcohol, etc. We’re hoping that something will glare at us and we’ll see where we can cut back spending … but I don’t really think that’s going to happen.

Aaron and I talked about our spending habits, and decided that if we want to be mindful of what we put into our bodies … we’re just going to have to come to terms that it takes money to do it. Instead of trying to reduce our grocery bill, we’re going to have to cut expenses in other areas like entertainment or clothes.

Next I’ll touch on how changing what we eat has affected our health

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joan permalink
    November 23, 2010 4:19 pm

    That was very interesting, can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

