Skip to content

The Wolf take on eating – Pt. 1

November 3, 2010

In my last post I wrote that Aaron and I watched Food Inc. Since Aaron’s been home from deployment, we’ve consciously been changing what we eat, how we eat, and why we eat. My next few blog posts will detail this eating journey.

Here’s a little background in how this all got started …

Aaron is into Crossfit, and Crossfit is into the Zone Diet.

Shortly after coming home, Aaron bought and read Enter the Zone by Dr. Barry Sears (Disclaimer: I have not read the book, only articles about the Zone Diet … this post and those following are simply my thoughts and my family’s experience in buying/eating). This was the beginning of him cutting out all refined and processed carbohydrates for us both.

This means that we stopped eating rice, pasta, potatoes, most bread (allowed one piece a day) and any other processed carbohydrates. Think side dishes … those were all gone. Instead of eating those foods we ate vegetables or fruit.

If you know me, I know what you’re thinking.

“Claire does NOT eat fruit.”

Well, I do now. Not all fruit … I’m still picky. But when your husband forbids you to make or buy rice and pasta … girls gotta eat something!

Before Aaron deployed we had talked about cutting out a majority of processed foods. So I got to process the idea of giving up all these foods for three months before we actually started this diet. I definitely needed those few months to think about changing my food habits!

To be continuted …

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kayna permalink
    November 4, 2010 9:43 am

    Did you feel hungry a lot at first? I always feel more hungry like15 minutes after I eat an apple. Good job you guys!

    • November 5, 2010 4:22 pm

      Yep, I did feel hungry a lot at first. I would hungry like one hour after eating dinner!

  2. Mom permalink
    November 5, 2010 8:13 pm

    My dearest daughter – Welcome to my world. It will be good to have you home especially when we have fish on top of a plate of spinach and mushrooms with fresh squeezed lime. Since I have a 5 pound bag of CostCo garlic, everything comes with garlic. Now, I have not given up my weekend waffles. Your dad loves waffles. He doesn’t do syrup.

  3. Lindsay permalink
    November 25, 2010 8:50 am

    Damn girl. Who is this person? For the record, I would not say that you ate too unhealthily before, but I am proud of this change you are making. HOWEVER, you better be eating enough so you are not wasted away to nothing by the time I see you again.

Leave a Reply

