Skip to content

My latest project

October 19, 2010

Well maybe I should say our latest project. Aaron is somehow always roped into the projects I think up.  🙂

We don’t have a lot of storage in our apartment, so I wanted to replace our current desk (which is just a table), with a desk that actually has drawers!

I’d been talking about this project for a few months now. I even told my in-laws about it, so they let Aaron borrow their sander before we even had a desk to redo.

After searching on craigslist for quite awhile, I finally found the desk I wanted. It’s a nice, sturdy, solid maple desk. And it has lots of drawers!

We sanded the entire desk and chair. Put on two coats of primer (sanding between each coat). Then put on two coats of paint.

Aaron told me that this project couldn’t take too long, because I wasn’t allowed to keep the desk in the garage training facility for more than a week. So we completed the transformation in just one weekend! We even bought new handles to spif it up a bit.

Here’s the final result:

I really like how it turned out. Gray is my new favorite color, so it’s popping up in our house a lot recently.

And, it provides storage 😉

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 7:10 am

    I love your guys cute little cottage!

  2. Mom permalink
    October 22, 2010 2:37 pm

    I like the desk and the top plate glass.
    Aaron did a great job!!!

    • October 22, 2010 4:37 pm

      The chair, desk and glass cost us $60. Aaron did the entire chair, but we both worked on the desk 🙂

  3. Marie permalink
    October 25, 2010 2:30 am

    looks great! is that a lime green chair? I LOVE it!

    • October 25, 2010 5:51 pm

      It’s not exactly lime green … but like a muted avacado green. We have a lime green step stool in our kitchen though!

  4. October 31, 2010 12:18 pm

    You guys did a great job!

Leave a Reply

