Skip to content

Back to the civilian world

September 7, 2010

Today was my first day not being a military spouse.

I didn’t feel any different, but I know the path our future will take now will be different. And that’s exciting.

Although I will not miss the deployments, workups (the 3 months prior to deployments where he’s gone for 70% of the time), and chaotic work schedules that Aaron has no control over … there are many things that I did enjoy about the Navy.

Here are a few of those things:

  • Job stability – While I was unemployed, we knew Aaron would always have a paycheck coming in.
  • Healthcare – I was able to quit my job in LA and know that I would have (free-to us) healthcare. Also, we didn’t pay for prescriptions, which is SO nice.
  • Military discounts

The ABSOLUTE best thing about Aaron being in the Navy for 5 years is

  • The GI Bill!

We are so excited that Aaron’s education will be paid for (including a housing allowance).

If you are an enlisted military veteran, you MUST use the new Post 9/11 GI Bill. It is a wonderful benefit that you greatly deserve after serving your country and being separated from your family.

He has been attending Mesa College for the past two weeks now and hopefully in a few semesters will transfer to San Diego State University.

So thank you Navy for all the good times, but I am so happy that we are moving on to the next chapter of our lives!

I feel like our married life together can FINALLY begin … and we’ve been married for almost 2 years, weird.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsay permalink
    September 9, 2010 6:47 am

    Well reflected Claire bear. I am so excited for your guys’ future…which is now whatever you want it to be- the possibilities are endless. 😉

Leave a Reply

