Skip to content

New job, in a new world

July 7, 2010

So I got a new job. I started exactly one month ago on June 7th.

It’s going well so far. I have a lot to learn since this is an industry I wasn’t very familiar with going into it. But I’m up for the challenge and it’s great so far.

I am the executive assistant for the executive team for the Department of Defense HIV/AIDS Prevention Program (DHAPP). Basically I am the assistant for the Director and Program Manager (Navy Captain) for the program. DHAPP aims to reduce the incidence of HIV/AIDS in foreign militaries around the globe.

A big part of the program is supporting the President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR). I track a lot of the budget data for headquarters and I get to correspond with high level military and government officials. I reread emails about six times before sending something out, hoping nothing is wrong and I don’t look dumb!

Being an executive assistant comes naturally to me. I’ve done the job before and I really enjoy being someone’s #2. I also am working for the Navy, under the DoD. This too I’ve done before, and the lingo is familiar to me.

The most challenging part of this new job has been learning all the health terminology. There are a lot more acronyms beyond H-I-V and A-I-D-S! I actually made flashcards in order to memorize them all! The cool thing though, is that the people I work for expect that I’ll have those challenges coming in and haven’t been too hard on me.

The other day someone said, “wow, sorry it’s been so hectic around here. It’s been really crazy lately!” 

I just smiled.

They obviously have not worked in LA in the entertainment industry where I’ve been yelled at by CEOs and VP’s via in person and blackberry, editing a press release, with reporters on hold, getting a client coffee and making dinner reservations all at the SAME time.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Joan permalink
    July 7, 2010 9:43 am

    Funny what some people think is crazy busy. You have always been a awesome multi-tasker. (glad to hear you are sleeping)

    • July 7, 2010 9:15 pm

      Joan, I always say that you taught me everything I know about multi-tasking! Just ask my mom 🙂

  2. Marie permalink
    July 9, 2010 5:21 pm

    I’m so glad you are enjoying your new job! It sounds interesting and challenging! 🙂

  3. Linds permalink
    July 18, 2010 11:36 am

    Yay!!! I know you are and will continue to do a great job Claire bear!!! I’m so excited for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

