Skip to content

Life without a mirror

February 22, 2010

I didn’t realize until after moving in, that there is no full length mirror in my home. Getting ready for work last week, I went to go look at myself in the mirror  … and didn’t know where to go.

The last two places I’ve lived, the closet doors were mirrors. I could stand there and make sure my shoes went with my outfit, that the pants and the shirt went together, and that my hair style looked good with what I’m wearing. Now, the only mirror I have is the door of the medicine cabinet in my bathroom. (I also have a decorative mirror that will soon hang on my wall, but still not full length).

My immediate thought was to go to Target and get one of those mirrors that hang on the back of the door. Problem is, with our older doors, I know the door will not be able to shut with something hanging on top of it.

Then I thought, “maybe I can live without a full length mirror. Can I? How much time do I spend looking at it? Is it too much?”

I honestly don’t think I spend a long time looking in the mirror everyday. I like to reassure myself that I match and then move on. Even my make-up takes me 2 minutes tops in the morning.

But I think it will be interesting to see how long I can last without being able to see myself head-to-toe every morning. I could ask Aaron how I look. But he always just says, “you look great!” (He’s well-trained). He only wants me to change when I insist on wearing my high-heeled leather boots out at night (they go up mid-calf). I think they’re awesome, but they make me a lot taller than him. And I stand out 😉

Anyone else not have a full-length mirror in their house?

I’ll let you know when I cave.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alysha permalink
    February 23, 2010 9:27 pm

    I don’t have a full length mirror either. Most of the time I don’t worry about it, but sometimes I really wish I had one. I also considered buying one from Target, but never got around to it…Well, that and because Clifford thought it was a completely unnecessary purchase. Sometimes (if I’m really desperate!) I’ll stand on the ottoman or the side of the tub to try to get the full picture, but it still doesn’t quite work! Ha ha! Good luck getting used to living without the full length mirror luxury. 🙂

  2. Lindsay permalink
    March 21, 2010 9:10 pm

    They’re just so handy to have around…. AND I think you should wear those sassy boots as much as you can. 🙂 (especially while Aaron’s gone in the next few months!)

Leave a Reply

