Skip to content

Personal Finance sites I like

November 23, 2009

As most of you know, I love reading blogs. Whenever I’m aware that I’m about to head into a new unknown territory of my life, I search out blogs so I can get some insights before actually getting to that point.

Before Aaron and I got married, I searched out military spouse blogs to what this new life would entail. Before graduating college, I read career blogs (and still do, everyone should I think). When planning my wedding, obviously, I read wedding blogs. Wedding blogs are great for getting ideas and inspiration from.

After graduating from college and getting my first PR job in Los Angeles, I knew it was time to get serious about budgeting and personal finance. I’m not one of those people who think I can do everything fine myself. I generally know when to ask for help and not try to be an “expert.” So I hired a financial planner to help me set up a retirement account and establish financial goals for myself. The great thing about a good financial planner is that they show you the necessary steps to achieve your goals and tell you if you’re realistically going to make it to what you want. My financial planner was big on educating me on how things worked. Not only did I set up a mutual fund, he forced me to learn how they work, how companies make money and how I make money. I learned about paying myself first and the wide variety of savings accounts that are available.

If you are floundering in how to manage your money, I highly recommend hiring a financial planner to have a 3rd party review your situation and get you on the right track. Get a recommendation from a friend you know who manages their money well (not someone who looks life they have lots of nice things), and spend the money to meet with a planner at least once.

Currently, Aaron and I do not utilize a financial planner’s services, but from my past experience, financial blogs, and mint.com, I think a financial planner would be proud of us.

I wanted to highlight two personal finance blogs that I enjoy reading and highly recommend.

Bible Money Matters – http://www.biblemoneymatters.com

Bible Money Matters is a Christian finance blog that uses scripture as its foundation for managing your money. The aim of the blog is to show how faith and finances work together. I really like this blog because it’s focus is not “manage your money well so then you can buy yourself lots of nice things and show off to others” … which is what our society thinks, or worse, just “charge it.” The attitude of this blog, which comes across in the content and views of the various guest authors, is that money is really God’s and you are just the manager of it. So manage it well!

To get a feel of the kind of posts Bible Money Matters has, click HERE, for the “best of” posts.

The Paycheck Chronicles – http://paycheck-chronicles.military.com

 The Paycheck Chronicles is a finance blog on Military.com. If you haven’t guessed already, it’s a blog written for service members and their families. Even though it’s geared for the military, Kate Kashman, Paycheck Chronicles author, still writes great articles that anyone can learn from (ok, yes some posts won’t have anything to do with you if you have no idea how the military affects your finances).

Kate writes about special deals that are available to military, finance tips when chosing what type of accounts to use, money quotes (which I love), and basic budgeting tips that are great for all. It’s worth while to stop by if you’re a civilian, and you should DEFINITELY bookmark it if you’re in the military.

Currently I work at the Fleet & Family Support Center at Naval Base Coronado. There are so many financial programs available to the military, you just have to be aware of what they are, then use them! Also, I know for a fact that the Navy has Financial Educators (similar to a financial planner), that will help you set up a budget or review any financial statements for free (for military). Just call your local family service center and ask about financial counseling.

Happy blog reading!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2009 11:43 am

    Thanks for highlighting our blog – we appreciate it!

  2. December 17, 2009 11:30 am

    How did I miss this? Thank you for the shout-out. I hope to reach more military families and I hope we’re helping! (I love Bible Money Matters, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

