Skip to content

What I miss about Los Angeles

August 26, 2009

Don’t get me wrong, I really like living in San Diego, more specifically Coronado. I’m thankful I didn’t have to move outside of Southern California once I got married. But I still miss things about Los Angeles and the life I had there.

First, I miss living with all my girls! I was lucky that I got a three month transition period from living with all my best friends and moving in with Aaron. When you live with girls your closest is automatically twice as big. I went to a wedding a few months back and realized that I didn’t have Whitney’s strappy black shoes to borrow. When I got tired of my shirts, I’d raid Lindsay’s closest to find something “new.”

When Aaron gets new clothes (which happens rarely) I ask him to show them to me and try them on for me when he gets home. He never does. As girls, we would come home and parade around in our new stuff, gathering around and saying how cute everything was (Jen always had the cutest shoes). He doesn’t seem to like to watch the TV show Friends either, which is just baffeling to me. I have to call Alysha to get a Friends quote fix.

Second, I miss the city. I miss rollar blading at Venice Beach, walking on the Santa Monica Pier and working in Century City. Venice Beach is a very unique beach city and the atmosphere there cannot be found in San Diego. I also miss Sunset Blvd and West Hollywood. Although I didn’t go there as much as I did in college the past two years, there was always a good show going on somewhere.

I have found special spots for myself down here in San Diego. I enjoy going to Balboa Park, taking pictures there and listening to the free summer concerts. I enjoy walking in Tidelands Park by my apartment and going to the Coronado library. There are fun things to do here, it’s just different from Los Angeles.

Third, I miss my church, Vineyard Christian Fellowship Westside. This is not to say that I don’t like the church I attend now, Canyon View Christian Fellowship. Canyon View has great small groups, it supports 100 missionary families and individuals, and we are starting to get involved with their high school ministry.

Vineyard Westside seemed to be designed for me. I attended the 11am Sunday service, but never got there at 11am. I was lucky to get there by 11:05, mostly getting there at 11:10 … I left my apartment at 11. But that’s when everyone got there. That’s why they had a 25-30 min opening worship set. If you got to church early, you’d be sitting in the sanctuary by yourself. The service was 1 1/2 hours long, sometimes longer. I don’t like it when churches try to cram everything into an hour. I like a nice solid music/worship set and a good, unrushed sermon.

What I miss the most about Vineyard is the worship experience. I wouldn’t call it a charasmatic church, but it has more of that vibe than your typical church. Most people raise their hands, it’s not unusual for the congregation to spontaneously applause during certain lines of a song, and even though the music is loud, you can always, ALWAYS hear everyone singing over the band.

There are a few songs that Vineyard Westside sings that I have yet to hear at Canyon View. Although I can listen to these songs on my ipod and sing along, there is something powerful about a group of people singing to their creator in unison. I miss hearing and singing these songs. It’s what has spurred this whole post on what I miss about Los Angeles. I’m hoping that soon my new church will be singing these songs.

Here are two songs that Vineyard Westside sings regulary that I miss.

Revelation Song (one of my all-time favorite worship songs):

Jesus Paid it All:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Linds permalink
    August 27, 2009 12:23 pm

    😦 Claire bear!!!!!!!!! Los Angeles misses you too (ok by Los Angeles I mean ME)!! Let’s plan a weekend for you to come up here and visit! We’ll do whatever LA thing you want to do.

  2. whitney permalink
    August 28, 2009 10:14 pm

    Claire, I miss you, too! Can’t wait to see you these next couple weekends. 😀 Funny about the shoes–wore them today for the photo shoot. Angela was worried I wouldn’t have shoes to wear because I didn’t have roommates anymore. hahaha ALSO, I was thinking of going to the Vineyard this weekend, so I think you nudged me in the right direction.

    • August 31, 2009 10:21 pm

      That is so funny about the shoes! Woohoo about Vineyard! And I can’t wait to see you this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

