Skip to content

God can still get you that job

June 9, 2009

Did you know that if you google “God give me a job” my blog is the first site that comes up?

People searching using that phrase is how I get the most new visits to this blog. It’s all because almost two years ago I wrote a post titled, God gave me a job. At that point in my life, I was a month into working at my previous job. Yes, previous job. I no longer work there. I am unemployed and on the job hunt again. I am no longer an unemployed college graduate as I was the time before, but a recently married unemployed woman who moved to a new city to be with her new husband.

The 2007 hunt took about 2 1/2 months and consisted of sending out dozens of resumes and going on 11 interviews. So far in the 2009 job hunt, I’ve sent out dozens of resumes and have had no interviews. I have been job searching for the past 5 weeks. (I tried job hunting while in my last position and it was really hard, but I did search around for 2 months. Also I took the month of April off since the Navy kept Aaron out of the loop of where they were sending him next.)

This time around I have more experience to offer employers, great references and extensive knowledge of new mediums useful to PR. There are, however, many others looking for a job as well. The statisical unemployment rate in San Diego county is 9.1%. However, this does not included “involuntary part-time” workers (people who took part-time work because it is all they could get) or “marginally-attached” workers (people who have looked for work in the past 12 months, but have not looked for work in the past 4 weeks). Read this AP article and NY Times blog for more info about those not counted in unemployment rates.

HR directors are flooded with resumes in their in-boxes. When I left my last position, I assisted HR in finding my replacement. Within the first five hours of posting my position on Craigslist, over 60 resumes had been submitted. Over the next two days, we had hundreds.

Emailing HR in response to a job posting doesn’t always work anymore. It used too. It worked 2 years ago. I got 11 job interviews that way. But it’s not the way to go now. You need to be different, you need to stand out.

I’ve gone back to the “old school” way of sending out resumes via snail mail. HR won’t look at all emails regarding a job posting, but they do have to open their mail.

I email/write letters to companies who don’t have positions open. In doing this I’ve received emails back saying that they were impressed with my resume and would keep it on file for when they are looking for someone. Companies will many times look at resumes they already have on file to fill open positions, it’s easier for them this way.

No, I haven’t had any interviews from my new tactics, but I’ve made some great contacts this way. And remember, the number one way to land a job is to know someone within the company. Connections are key in these economic times.

All this to say that God can still get you that job. I don’t think the right thing to do is google “God give me a job.” But you need to ask Him, “God, please open and close the right doors so that I may get a job that is pleasing to you. Help me to understand what you are trying to teach me during this period of my life and equip me with the patience and strength to make it through.”

Maybe the right job for you isn’t available yet? Someone at that company needs to be promoted before they can hire you. Maybe you should switch careers? Don’t take a job just because you have a degree for it, try to like it! Maybe you are supposed to work just part-time and focus more on your kids.

I don’t know your situation and you don’t really know mine, but I know what it feels like to be unemployed when you really want to be in that “I have a job” club. People ask you “what do you do?” and you tell them you are in between jobs. I’ve had some pretty awkward silences let me tell you. Some just don’t know how to respond after you say that you are unemployed.

But it’s ok. Today I slept in, had my oil changed, tires rotated, detailed the inside of my car myself, had a healthy lunch, caught up on personal emails and exercised all before 3pm. That’s something an employed person doesn’t usually get done on a Tuesday.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Whit permalink
    June 10, 2009 10:32 am

    Really great post, Claire! You will make an excellent addition to whatever company hires you, and I’m sure God will guide you this time just like the last. Love you!

  2. Barbara permalink
    June 14, 2009 7:03 pm

    Claire, I really enjoy reading your posts. You are correct when God closes one door, He will open another door for you. You had to close your door in LA to open the new door with Aaron. I know your job will come-a-knockin soon. Love you and keep writing!

  3. Agnes permalink
    November 10, 2009 5:55 am

    Most encouraging Claire!! You were actually quite lucky. I am in the UK and in spite of having an excellent CV and a good track record, I have been searching for employment for the past 8 and a half months. I have attended 5 interviews, and did not falter once was continuously praised and clearly knew the job thoroughly. None of the employers actually even came back to me with a rejection weeks after until I enquired. Some never bothered at all. I still await a response to my last interview some nine days ago – and only for a contract position! I do agree with your statement that God will provide the right job at the right time. He alone of course can see both sides of the coin. Sometimes we allow our human instincts to overtake us, but total reliance in God even if we find it difficult in certain circumstances, will bring about the result we want. Indeed God’s delays are not God’s denials. I will keep you updated on my situation, God bless you for keeping his name alive on this wonderful site.

  4. Irene permalink
    April 8, 2010 10:45 am

    Hello Claire! I have been feeling my faith slip away and in my search for jobs, I put in Google’s search engine, “God give me a job”…I saw and read your blog and it gave me hope. Thank you! I applied for a position with Toyota back in Nov., 2009..didn’t hear anything from them until I was laid off from my current job. I have passed every examination and physical exams that Toyota has for a requirement for the job. I actually completed the last test 3 weeks ago, I even went as far as calling the company (sub-contractor) that hires for Toyota what is my status….The young lady was very respectful, yet she couldn’t tell me anything…So, like you were several months ago…I am at a cross-road. Well, I just wanted to tell you that I have enjoyed reading your blog and hope everything is going great for you and your family…Sincerely a friend in San Antonio,TX

  5. desiree permalink
    August 7, 2010 9:13 am

    Hey Claire,
    I stumbled onto your site after googling GOD about a job … I read your post and found it very encouraging , its been 4 months for me …. For a while I just stopped applying because in my mind I felt I didn’t need to help GOD get me a job …. I still dont think I need to but I apply with the knowledge that only GOD opens Doors , strangely enough the interviews I go for are through contacts , People who know me or studied with me …. I went for an interview recently, I felt like I had walked into a place I had been before .It was a comfortable feeling .. I wanted to work there … I wasn’t selected n then the same place called me for another interview , I was selected by the 4 member panel and then again the business head said I dint have enough work ex .Im still waiting .. Im not sure why I am mentioning this , but I realized in the past 4 months I have been the most unproductive in my professional life … n Its awkward when people ask , what do I do … But honestly , I feel and have learnt to be at peace , To pray regularly, To Trust my GOD … My most unproductive period in my life has become a time of solace n peace for me …. I still Dunno whats gonna happen ,But I believe GOD holds us in the palm of his hands … Keep praying … Ive learnt the importance of importune prayer …
    Thank you for letting me share with you and for sharing your faith.

    “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

    GOD BLESS

    • August 10, 2010 8:04 am

      Desiree I hope that you continue to look to God for guidance in your job search! After I wrote this blog post, it took me five more months to find a job. It felt like I was unemployed for such a long time, but now as I look back on it, it doesn’t seem that long.

      God will open doors, you but have to keep sending those resumes out and give God something to work with 🙂

  6. shravni permalink
    October 14, 2010 9:29 pm

    Great post Claire!!!!
    Love you…. Ur story exactly resembles mine. I have been searching for a job for more than 2 months, I have to move to LA after my marriage to stay with my husband. When I moved to LA, I was lot more than happy as I was going to stay with my loved one.Infact thats too exciting. But now I am so much worried about my career. Oh God…. Please give me a job….

  7. kalecia permalink
    December 26, 2011 9:29 pm

    I thank you for sharing your story it gave me hope and courge and my story is very similar to yours i finaly got a after so many turn downs I hope that some one else will read your story and feel encourged not to give up prayer is the answerar and trusting in god i did and he has yet to fail me he made a beliver and a true witness that prayers can be answered and never give up thank you agin and god bless u and your family

  8. July 1, 2012 10:59 am

    hardworking and honesty

  9. July 1, 2012 11:15 am

    i want God to do it as he did it for u.am happi for u.

  10. July 13, 2012 4:41 am

    Hey Claire, Thank you for words of encouragement. I live in South Africa and have been job hunting for more than a year now. I’m a Business Management graduate, n I have been applying since 2011 March until now but I know GOD will bless me with a job I’m looking for one day. The living conditions are bad at home as we sometimes go to bed on an empty tummy but that does not stop me from believing in GOD. Thank you again Claire. Be BLESSED!

  11. Bailey permalink
    March 14, 2013 10:26 pm

    Thanks for sharing. Your post really inspired me. I recently was laid off at the beginning of 2013 . First time ever in my life and I am 50 years old! I am glad I typed in what I did on google to reach your post… I believe .it was meant for me to read thanks to the big man upstairs! 🙂
    Thanks again for you inspiring thoughts.

  12. January 7, 2014 3:36 pm

    I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content
    in your case? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write with
    regards to here. Again, awesome web site!

  13. January 10, 2014 3:21 am

    Howdy! This blog post couldn’t be written much better!
    Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept preaching about this. I’ll send this post to him.
    Fairly certain he’ll have a great read. Thank you for sharing!

  14. January 10, 2014 3:39 am

    You should take part in a contest for one of the most useful blogs on the net.
    I will recommend this website!

  15. January 11, 2014 11:09 am

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll
    bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite sure I will
    learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the
    next!

  16. January 12, 2014 3:14 am

    I blog quite often and I really appreciate your information.

    This great article has truly peaked my interest.
    I am going to book mark your site and keep checking for
    new details about once per week. I opted in for
    your RSS feed as well.

Trackbacks

  1. God gave me a job « Listen to this

Leave a Reply

