Skip to content

I resigned from my job last week …

March 13, 2009

I sat crying in my boss’ office as I gave him my resignation letter.

I didn’t catch him by surprise by giving him my notice, but he still asked me, “why are you giving me your resignation?”

“I just need to go …” was all I could say through my tears and all that he needed to hear.

If for some reason you don’t know, let me fill you in on my situation. Aaron and I have never lived in the same city. We’ve been married for almost 3 months and I still live in Los Angeles and he lives in San Diego. It’s has always been our choice to have a long distance relationship, but we’ve come to a spot in Aaron’s career, that if I don’t move to SD, I’ll never see him at all. Even now, when I drive down on the weekends, his training is such that I only see him a few hours at a time and then he needs to go on base to get something done.

It’s bittersweet leaving my job. My co-workers say they are sad to see me go, but excited that I finally get to live with my husband. And I’m excited about that too.

Since I got engaged, I’ve been trying to figure out how to keep my job and live in San Diego, and I just can’t find the solution.

My last day here is March 27. I don’t have another job to go to in SD. I don’t know if you’ve ever worked 10-11 hours a day, travel every weekend, and tried to look for a new job in a different city … but it’s really hard to do.

If anyone has any contacts in the San Diego area, please let me know! I’ll gladly send you my resume.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    March 14, 2009 11:53 pm

    Hang in there, Claire… you’ll find something! A company would be crazy not to have you.

  2. Aunt Susie permalink
    March 19, 2009 3:32 am

    Claire– I’m sure thinking of you. I know this has to be a tough thing, but the sweet overpowers the bitter in the long run. I’ll be praying that the Lord will open some doors for you, job-wise, with this big move. Love you!

Leave a Reply

