Skip to content

Are you serious?

January 13, 2009

This is what I ask Aaron all the time when he tells me what the temperature is in IL. Most of the time I think he is just exaggerating, but then I look it up and it’s true. He told me yesterday it was 13 degrees. I just don’t know how I could handle that.

But for some crazy reason I decided to try, and am flying to Chicago this Saturday. We both have a three day weekend for Martin Luther King Jr. Day, so we thought it’s a perfect time for me to go out there. Perfect except for the fact that it is like 10 degrees there.

I don’t even have a coat in LA. There is no need for one. If it ever gets below 60 degrees here, Angelenos dress up like a blizzard is about to blow in.

Well I’ll tell you where a blizzard warning is actually in affect … Chicago! It is actually supposed to get warmer on the weekend, when it will be in the warm mid-twenties!! 

I am lucky that Whitney is from Nebraska and she is letting me borrow warm clothes. My favorite little sweater from Forever 21 will not help me at all this weekend. I need layers!

Just if you wanted to know … here is what the weather is supposed to be like over the next few days in Chicago.

Jan 13  Tonight
Partly cloudy skies early then becoming cloudy with periods of snow late. Cold. Low -2F. Winds SSW at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of snow 80%. Snow accumulating 1 to 2 inches.
Jan 14  Tomorrow
Light snow during the morning will transition to snow showers during the afternoon. Cold. High 14F. Winds NNE at 10 to 20 mph. Snow accumulating 1 to 2 inches.
Jan 14  Tomorrow night
Snow showers early. Breaks in the overcast later. Cold. Wind chills may approach -20F. Low -3F. Winds NW at 15 to 25 mph. Chance of snow 40%.
Jan 15  Thursday
Mix of sun and clouds. Highs in the low single digits and lows -6 to -10F.
Jan 16  Friday
Mix of sun and clouds. Highs in the low teens and lows in the upper single digits.

And here is Los Angeles:

Jan 13  Tonight
Mainly clear. Low 51F. Winds NNE at 5 to 10 mph.
Jan 14  Tomorrow
A mainly sunny sky. Near record high temperatures. High 81F. Winds NNE at 5 to 10 mph.
Jan 14  Tomorrow night
Clear. Low 51F. Winds NE at 5 to 10 mph.
Jan 15  Thursday
Sunshine. Highs in the upper 70s and lows in the low 50s.
Jan 16  Friday
Sunshine. Highs in the upper 70s and lows in the low 50s.

I am a Californian. I am a wimp when it comes to cold weather. I am not ashamed to admit it. I complain about it being 50 degrees in Ridgecrest, when I’m inside looking outside (my dad also refuses to use the heater … that could be why). I always sleep with an electric blanket or mattress pad during the winter.

Please pray for me as me, my thin skin, and luke-warm blood go to Chicago.

I leave Saturday morning.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2009 7:51 pm

    Have fun! If you ever get time where you aren’t able to be with Aaron Chappy is there too! Hope you do ok in the freezing!

  2. Mom permalink
    January 14, 2009 8:43 pm

    I bet you wish you had mom’s Raspberry Gortex Jacket that everyone makes fun of.
    Love you,
    Mom

  3. January 15, 2009 7:20 pm

    thought you’d like to know that right now it’s -26 with the windchill in marion, actual temperature -6. yuck. i’m glad you have warm clothes to borrow when you go to chicago! cold weather is not fun! chicago is a fun city, but stay inside as much as you can! the only perk with such cold weather is that i’m home from school today because it was cancelled because it’s so cold. 🙂

  4. Aunt Susie permalink
    January 15, 2009 7:56 pm

    Hi Claire! I’m home today too! We have it even colder than Lucinda– this morning the regular temp was -13º with a windchill of -29º. Brrrr! Bundle up! At least it’s supposed to warm up (ha!) a little this weekend. And where were those balmy temps when we were out there for your wedding? We must have brought some of the cold with us!

    I hope you have a wonderful time with Aaron this weekend! And a new experience of what “cold” really can feel like. 🙂 Hugs, Susie

  5. January 15, 2009 10:49 pm

    I that is UNBELIEVABLE! I did not know that they cancel school because it is cold. That’s crazy!

    I know, when you all were out here, it was probably the only week it was really “cold” for California. We have Santa Ana winds now so it is warm again.

  6. Aunt Susie permalink
    January 16, 2009 5:13 am

    They have already canceled school for tomorrow too because of the dangerous windchills. I’m so glad it will be a little warmer on Saturday when you are out this way! I stayed in all day today and plan to tomorrow too. Right now it is -14º and the windchill is -36º. YIKES!

Leave a Reply

