Skip to content

Yes, I do belong to that exclusive club

December 9, 2008

I was reading an article yesterday on MSN titled Jobs That Make Good Cocktail Party Conversation

I was surprised to see that my job was on there! Then I got to thinking about it, and it’s true! My job does make for good conversation and we all do kind-of-sort-of have a club!

Here is what it says:

6. Executive assistant

Why: All assistants have horror stories of putting up with ridiculous demands, but executive assistants belong to their own exclusive club. The responsibilities of assistants working for high-level executives will make your jaw drop and your blood pressure rise.

Stories you’ll hear: A CEO whose itinerary depends on that morning’s horoscope; having to answer a needy boss’s calls in the middle of the night; embarrassing moments with high-ranking business leaders.

Luckily I don’t get calls in the middle of the night a la “The Devil Wears Prada,” but I do WHATEVER it takes to get my executive’s requests done.

As an executive assistant I have:

  • Booked a business trip while driving in my car through a sandstorm in Mojave.
  • Cut my Christmas vacation short and driven to work (from Ridgecrest taking a detour to Bakersfield) just because I was the only one available to answer the phones that day.
  • Driven around Hollywood to find an Arabian Nights costume for an exec and his wife
  • Insisted that all hotel rooms be hypo-allergenic with no feather pillows
  • Organized Rosh Hashanah dinner
  • Researched card and flower shops for an exec as he left to go meet his wife for their anniversary dinner

There are many more things, I just can’t remember all of them. And keep in mind that I work for 5 executives, the list above is not just one person.

Of all the things I’ve done, my least favorite request is “Can you refill my coffee?” I know it is part of my job, I just don’t like it. I do have all my execs drink orders memorized though, and yes, even what they eat for lunch. Because sometimes I have to order and pick up their lunch too.

Two of my roommates are assistants too and we swap stories on a weekly basis. Somehow, we are always able to top each other.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    December 10, 2008 9:01 pm

    Yes, Claire,
    You are a “Super Emily” like in the movie, The Devil Wears Prada.
    We love you!
    Mom and Dad

Leave a Reply

