Skip to content

Gingerbread House making

December 10, 2007

This weekend we had a gingerbread house making contest. It was Aaron and I vs. Lindsay and Ryan. Aaron wasn’t that into it until he found out that it was a competition. Then we had to go to the store to buy more candy!

ginger1

We had a 50 minute time limit. We worked really hard and the creative juices were really flowing.

ginger2

Here’s Aaron and my house. As you can see, we have a spa in the front yard and a brick front walkway. Also, there are iceicles lining the roof because there recently was a freeze.

 ginger3

Here is Lindsay and Ryan’s house.  They built a garage (I don’t know if this was within the rules…) and they had these cute little flower beds, which you can’t really see in the picture.

ginger4

Alysha, our judge, said that Ryan and Lindsay won … but I still think Aaron and mine was better!!!

ginger5

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    December 11, 2007 3:59 pm

    how fun! I have one at my house which needs to be put together. Maybe I’ll just bring it home with me. Maybe we can have a contest : )

    Both of the houses look great!

    Happy Holiday’s!

  2. December 15, 2007 12:44 pm

    My name is Tom Selick and I’m the president of The International organization of Gingerbread houses and Decorative Baking, you may also know my name from the film Quigley Down Under, i know, pretty cool right? I was referred to this blog by my friend and vice president, david spade. Obviously Ryan and Lindsay don’t know anything about Gingerbread, houses, or candy, or anything for that matter. Their poor design and decoration of a gingerbread house reflects their lack of creativity, innovation and inspiration, the three things that we strive for most at the IOGHDB. I would just like Ryan and Lindsay to understand the travesty that they’ve bestowed upon the baking community and let them know that they’ve been put on the blackball list for all future competitions, foreign, domestic and international! Alysha has also been put on the list and will be banned from all competitions for ten years with a conditional parole hearing commencing December 15, 2017. I would also like to extend my sincere grattitude to Claire and Aaron on building/decorating an outstanding house and displaying such courage in the face of adversity by portraying an asian gingerhusband with his african-american wife, the world would be a far better place with more people like you. we would also like to invite you to attend the upcoming annual IOGHDB festival and 36 hour gingerhouse building marathon on December 24, 2007.

    thank you,

    Tom Selick

Leave a Reply

