Skip to content

And it starts …

October 1, 2007

I have a long history of pushing the limits when it comes to what time I need to wake up in order to make it to work/school on time. You can just ask my parents, I’ve done this all my life.

It’s a combination of factors that make this a reoccuring problem.

  1. I enjoy working/doing activities when it’s dark outside. This includes working, doing homework, exercising and eating dinner.
  2. Because of number 1, I often go to bed late … but I feel productive when I go to bed late.
  3. I love sleeping, but have had difficulties falling asleep since high school. Since I spend a significant amount trying to fall asleep, I make up for it by sleeping in later.

I do everything in my power to make sure I can sleep in as long as I can. Waking up is always the hardest part of my day. I take showers at night, pick out my outfit for the next day the night before, make sure my purse is ready to grab, and even calculate how long it will take me to do my hair. It’s an exact science.

When I worked on base during college, I could wake up at 6:37 am and still make it to work on time. Work started at 7:00 am. If I got out of bed a minute later, people could tell that I had rushed that morning. But if I woke up by 6:37, no one knew that I had only been awake for 23 minutes by the time I got to work.

At my present job, I have to be at my desk, ready to answer phones by 8:30 am. With the way LA street traffic is, I have to leave my house between 8:05 and 8:10, even though I live 3.8 miles away. At first I was doing good by waking up between 7:10 and 7:15, giving me plenty of time to get ready in the morning. But over the last 2-3 weeks, I’ve been waking up later and later – and discovering that I can still make it to work on time.

So lately I’ve been hitting the 7:30 mark, with a couple of those times being 7:40 … and still making it to work on time mom!!

I’m trying to finally break this habit … but it’s so hard when I know I can make it to work on time and get an extra 10-20 minutes of rest!

No No No

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    October 1, 2007 6:32 pm

    Dear Claire,
    Mom is going to call you at 7:00 am every morning to help you out. You know I consider it my JOB to help you be the best you can be. Sounds like the Marie Corps Moto.
    Love you lots and can’t wait to hear your bright and shiny voice tomorrow.
    Love,
    Mom

  2. Whitney permalink
    October 1, 2007 7:20 pm

    Hahahahaha. I laugh. And I can attest that Claire always looks very put together when she leaves the apartment–never looks rushed, and still makes it on time. Props to you. You know I push the time limits, too, only sometimes without success.

  3. Tracey permalink
    October 14, 2007 6:47 pm

    I stumbled across your website when looking for a different “claire’s music”… it makes me laugh because this particular blog could not have more accurately portrayed my life! It’s good to know someone else out there has the same mentality as me 🙂

Leave a Reply

