Skip to content

Habits

June 28, 2007

When I was growing up I never made my bed unless my mom specifically told me too. I never really saw the point because I knew that in just a matter of hours it would be messed up again. It’s one of those habits that never became a habit for me.

My roommates however, generally always make their beds. Lindsay says that her mom was always telling her to do it so eventually she just started doing it without being told to (it didn’t work with me though … I don’t know why). So right now, I’m in the midst of trying to install some different habits in my life. Two of them are 1) making my bed in the morning (or afternoon) and 2) flossing before bed. These are both things I don’t do that I probably should do.

I still don’t really see the point to making my bed (although it does make my room look cleaner … is that the point?) but I do see the benefits of flossing. So if you see me around or talk to me you can ask me if I made my bed and have flossed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    June 29, 2007 10:55 am

    Hi Claire! it’s been a while since I’ve read your blog and I’m finally caught up. What Great stories! Yes, your mom is definitely one of a kind and I love her visits. I’m glad she’s my sister : )

    I was happy to read about your new habits. For me, making my bed in the morning means when I’m trying to find something to wear in the morning and I just can’t decide on the outfit, I can lay the clothes on the bed instead of hanging them back up. Then when I come home I usually put the clothes on the dresser. I’m bad about doing that. But making your bed is a good thing! Your room definitely looks cleaner.

    How is the job search coming along? I wish you luck in the job hunt.

    Please take care of yourself and I’m glad you have a friend like Lindsey in your life.

    Miss and Love you lots!
    Barbara

  2. June 30, 2007 9:40 pm

    Thanks Barbara! I do that too sometimes, lay all my clothes on my bed trying to pick something.

    Haven’t found a job yet, but I’m still looking!

    Love you too!!

Leave a Reply

