Skip to content

God gave me a job

August 24, 2007

Well it’s been one month and a day since I started my new job, so it’s about time I blogged about why I like it.

Everyone kept telling me that God must have the right job for me. People said that all the time because they could see that finding a job was becoming a little tiresome for me at times. There’s a certain point in all the rejections when you wonder why you went to an expense college when people won’t even hire you as their receptionist.

The most depressing thing was that I had to go to Ridgecrest for various reasons and everyone would ask me if I had a job yet … and all I could say was “nope, no yet.” I feel like some people thought I wasn’t trying hard enough, but I really was. I had a lot a great internships and jobs in college that made my resume pretty impressive for being a recent grad. But I didn’t have any takers for almost 2 1/2 months.

The company I work for now was the 11th place I interviewed at. I can’t even remember how many times I actually sent my resume out. I would tell my roommates that I should write a book about interviewing skills because I got to practice it so much. Some of those jobs I was underqualified for, most I was overqualified for, some I thought I would have been perfect. But none of them I got.

Then came a job listing for a PR assistant, found on Craig’s List, that I didn’t really have to much hope for, but tried anyway. They called me that next week. I had a two day, four hour total interview. And they gave me a job offer the next day when I was practicing a dance the bridesmaids were going to perform at Kim’s wedding reception.

It’s amazing how perfect this job is for me right now. It’s not what I want to do for the rest of my life. But for right here and right now, it’s great.

I’ll now go into bullet points on why my job is cool.

  • It’s less than 4 miles from my apartment. (In LA that is unheard of!)
  • It’s a job within the field I studied in college
  • I actually studied some of their clients while in school and now I talk to them on the phone
  • Paid overtime
  • I love West LA and tall buildings and I work in the one of the only spots in West LA that has tall buildings
  • I start at 8:30. Still early, but late enough.
  • Free breakfast every Friday morning
  • Free Starbucks (usually)
  • The executives I assist are awesome so I’m learning a lot!
  • I still get to work with entertainment
  • I’m the back-up assistant to the “Godfather” of PR

UPDATE: Click here to read about my current situation (hint: I don’t have a job anymore …)

37 Comments leave one →
  1. Grandparent Archuleta permalink
    August 25, 2007 5:37 am

    Thanks for the update on your job experience encounter. Congratulations and welcome to the “working world” of your chosen career field.

  2. August 26, 2007 12:51 am

    this is truly an awesome gig for a first job! you really scored and we’re so happy for you.

    i absolutely loved working in downtown la… i loved the buildings, the proximity to decent restaurants, the tall sparkly buildings (dave calls them “guilded birdcages”)

    and i can’t believe your 4-mile commute. you should be ashamed of yourself, calling yourself a “commuter”. what on earth will you complain about when you get into the office each morning?

  3. Barbara permalink
    August 27, 2007 4:19 pm

    Hi Claire, see all good things are worth waiting for and this job really sounds like Fun! Can’t believe it is less than 4 miles – surely you’re not driving : )

    I would take this experience as the entertainment world just wasn’t ready for Claire Bergens and all the wonderful things she can do. I’m glad you’re with a company you enjoy.

    Smiles,
    Barbara

  4. August 29, 2007 11:32 am

    i’m so happy. i can’t wait to come visit. :)
    love you

  5. August 29, 2007 2:04 pm

    I know, I don’t feel so much like a “Los Angelan” with my little commute.

  6. Andrew permalink
    March 21, 2009 7:46 pm

    Nice to know you enjoy what you do. It is the most important thing. (from Andrew , Canada)

  7. apurba permalink
    June 11, 2009 3:26 am

    i want a job but i can write only story nothing else.please contct with me and give a job please only for writting.my adress-103/b,khilgoan chowdhury para,dhaka.bangladesh.

  8. Simon Mariga permalink
    June 12, 2009 5:25 am

    I hope you’re grateful to God ,our father which is in Heaven,for He Has blessed you so much.I’m also a recent University and midlle-level college graduate,looking for a job in Kenya or any where ; And I know God will open doors for me,He’ll make a way where there seems to be none and He’ll give me wime from vineyards I did’nt plant!.Thank you all and God Bless you.

  9. Christine permalink
    June 17, 2009 6:31 am

    Dear Claire,

    Today, I have again searched for a job – but to no avail. I have typed the words “God give me a job please” on Goggle and here you are with your amazing story.
    Thank you for encouraging me – I KNOW God will provide the perfect job for me!!!

    Christine

    • mareena permalink
      September 1, 2010 2:35 am

      you know Claire….like Chrsitina, i also typed in the same words..”God please give me a job” nd reached your blog…thanks for sharing your story of what God did for you in his own good time….it has given me encouagement to carry on with my job hunt…. :-)I know God will open doors for me which I cant see right now

  10. July 8, 2009 1:15 am

    I am now in a position unable to get a simple job since last one year may be its my bad luck.
    Now it is very much difficult for me to bear daily expenses having wife and kid…please help me god…

  11. arun permalink
    August 10, 2009 10:57 am

    god plaese give me a job i have no words to say except my prayer

  12. Beth permalink
    August 13, 2009 6:14 pm

    You have inspired me I also typed in the words “God Please give me a job” and your story came up and I only pray that God will bless me and send me a GREAT Job…. PLEASE GOD SEND ME A JOB! I have being applying like crazy and as a recent Grad its so discourageing at times! Please you all Pray for me! Again congrats.

    ~Beth

  13. Florence permalink
    August 27, 2009 10:26 am

    I’m so frustrated!!!! I need a job like yesterday. I’m a graduate who’s never had afulfiling job for the last fifteen years. I do what I do so as not to be idle but it pays peanuts. I have a family of two boys whose school fees is quite high, we need to pay rent, get fare to go to work,…it is hard food is so expensive. We cannot save. God please hear my cry, please give me a job with an international school or oragnisation that will pay me well. A job where my qualifications and experience will be considered. Please Jesus….oh please…I don’t know how else this cry can reach your throne but I need you Lord to do us a miracle. Remember we were also conned and lost almost two million Kenya shillings which had been our savings for the last several years. Lord, please you are my only hope!!

  14. babu mathew permalink
    September 24, 2009 8:14 am

    god will give us job but we must ready to do that.

  15. julie permalink
    October 12, 2009 5:46 am

    hi

    I believe if you take God as your partner all shall be well,what is impossible with man ,is possible with God,have faith and you will receive

  16. sunshine permalink
    November 23, 2009 1:29 pm

    I type `god give me a job`, and your story came up.
    I have a masters in my field and feel its now just a pc of paper lying in my house.
    I just pray that the right job comes soon.
    Happy Thanksgiving everyone.
    Thanks for sharing ur story

  17. Raj permalink
    February 23, 2010 3:24 pm

    Guys,
    Yet again i am an another job seeker desperate enough to type “God get me a job” on google and now i am here. However now, I have realised that there are lot more in the queue ahead of me … so i’m sure its just matter of time, u me and everyone here will soon get a nice job.
    And ha one request once you get ajob , please let us then. Till then keep trying..

    Best Regards
    Take rest if you must but dont you quit, you may win in just an another blow.
    Cheers….

  18. Daizy permalink
    February 27, 2010 7:42 pm

    I am new in Australia. Came as an Accountant. I was used to do a Corporate job in my country.. But 4 montns have passed but no sign of any job. Not only Accounting job but no other job as wel. I don’t know what to do.. My deposited money will finish very soon. Feeling so helpless. Now I ahave nothing to do except praying to ALMIGHTY ………………..What to do??? Please tell me………………….

    Daizy

  19. Tina permalink
    April 29, 2010 5:58 pm

    CONGRATS on your new job!!! I’m very happy for you and yes God he’s the one who handed you that job. How GREAT is he??? I’m not going to lie , your story is so SIMILAR to mine but the difference is I’m still looking for that perfect job while working at one that pays minimum wage because there;s nothing out there in that though job market but I still remain hopeful.I can’t count how many times I’ve sent my resume out and been interviewed without being hired like you. God only knows when the time is right! Congrats again! thanks for sharing your story:)

  20. Monique permalink
    May 10, 2010 6:26 pm

    Woah! THIS IS GREAT! GOD IS GREAT! I understand It’s so hard not to get a job but i really want to be as hugely lucky has you have been! God loves us all it’s about waiting though.

  21. maurice powers-turner permalink
    May 12, 2010 2:21 pm

    i just had the worst day at work. when i confronted a fellow surgical tech about making fun of me in the same room behind my back, she said, every one is making fun of you. dear god, cant i just have a job that is not abusive and allows me to practice my career in a safe enviornment (sp). i worry about patients too. surely their spirits can feel this kind of thing. i want to service humanity with people that have the same ethic or moral. please pray for me.

  22. sivaraju permalink
    July 2, 2010 4:27 am

    God give me a job

  23. Shereen Collington permalink
    September 9, 2010 11:58 am

    Thank you for your testimonial. I’m a student who is job hunting and this blog entry was encouraging to me.
    Thank you again.

    Warmly,
    Shereen

  24. Glen permalink
    September 22, 2010 8:24 pm

    I know Claire what you were going through, I can’t take one more minute of the unemployment status. I ask God as well and hope that he may give me something soon, I am a single mother of a 3 year old and just hope I can get something soon. Please pray for me.

  25. January 14, 2011 9:37 am

    God Give Me Job:
    i am student and hunting for job. i am also typist. i can online typing job. Any one who
    help me plz give me guide for online job like data entry and captcha entry.

  26. Gurpreet Singh permalink
    September 14, 2011 2:24 am

    please god give me a job

  27. christine Prosha permalink
    October 28, 2011 1:01 pm

    Oh wow,,everyone tells me the same thing..so it is true..God has best job waiting for us,,we just leave it in his hands,,wonderful success story..God bless you always. I typed same thing you did,,and came to you wonderful story.

  28. daniel permalink
    March 7, 2012 7:57 am

    I been waiting and praying for work over a yaear

  29. janet permalink
    March 28, 2012 2:13 pm

    Wow Thanks to God for everything.when he opens a door no one will shut.I believe delay is not defeat.

  30. Mohsind permalink
    May 14, 2012 5:50 am

    God Give Job
    Now i am Jobless and need a job
    please accept my prayer and give me job
    Thanks My Allah

  31. Mohsind permalink
    May 14, 2012 5:55 am

    My Name is Mohsin Dastgeer

  32. Amoako Nelson permalink
    May 17, 2012 6:20 am

    awesome, it is always possible when himself Christ knows about it. That reminds me about the scripture that says, with “Christ in your bolt will smile at the storms

  33. Sammy permalink
    July 3, 2012 5:54 am

    I wish u althe best Claire. Iam also looking for a job and I,am sure God is gonna help me get one very soon.

  34. August 5, 2013 9:50 am

    It’s very simple to find out any topic on net as compared to textbooks, as I found this article at this web site.

  35. G dino permalink
    October 30, 2013 11:11 am

    thanks for your testimony, its indeed awesome. I never new i will find a site like this on the net. I just typed “God give me a job” and i landed on this lovely site of sheared testimonies. I want to assure we that are searching for a job that God never sleeps and that the right time is coming. keep hoping in God because he is the author and finisher of our faith

Trackbacks

  1. God can still get you that job « The life of Claire

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

